top of page

Understanding DoD Directive 8570: Your Pathway to Information Technology Excellence with SystemATech

In today's rapidly evolving digital landscape, information technology (IT) is more critical than ever. The Department of Defense (DoD) recognizes this need and has implemented Directive 8570 to ensure that all personnel, contractors, and government employees involved in information assurance (IA) roles are adequately trained and certified. Here at Systematech, we are committed to adhering to this directive, providing top-notch IT training that aligns with DoD standards.

What is DoD Directive 8570? (AKA 8140)

DoD Directive 8570, formally known as DoD 8570.01-M, is a policy that establishes the certification requirements for individuals who perform IA functions within the DoD. This directive mandates that all IA personnel obtain and maintain industry-recognized certifications that correspond to their job roles and responsibilities. The directive categorizes IA roles into various levels and technical categories, ensuring a structured approach to IT competency.

What are the DoD IAT levels?

There are three category levels within the IAT category:

  • Level 1: Computing environment information assurance

  • Level 2: Network environment information assurance

  • Level 3: Enclave, advanced network and computer information assurance

The category levels reflect the system architecture and not the grade of the individual working in that area. Within each level are sublevels that represent the attainment grade of the individual. These attainment levels are:

  • Entry level

  • Intermediate

  • Advanced

Each level has a set of functions within it. For example:

  • Level 1 has functions such as install and operate IT systems, apply security procedures and enter assets into a vulnerability management system

  • Level 2 has functions such as provide end user support, manage user accounts and analyze system performance

  • Level 3 has functions such as lead teams and support actions to mitigate problems and direct operational structures and processes

Any persons wishing to work within these IAT levels must be certified to the correct level for the function they perform within a category. The IAT categories are cumulative: if you want to work at a Level 2, you need to have mastered Level 1.

Key Objectives of DoD Directive 8570

  1. Standardization: Establishes standardized certification requirements across the DoD.

  2. Competency: Ensures that IA personnel possess the necessary skills and knowledge to protect DoD information systems.

  3. Career Development: Provides a clear pathway for career advancement within the IT field.

  4. Accountability: Ensures that certified personnel are accountable for maintaining their credentials and continuing their education.

Systematech's Commitment to DoD Directive 8570

At Systematech, we take pride in our adherence to DoD Directive 8570. Our training programs are meticulously designed to meet the certification requirements outlined in the directive, ensuring that our students are well-prepared to excel in their IA roles.

Comprehensive Training Programs

Whether you are just starting your IT career or looking to advance your skills, Systematech offers a range of training programs that cater to different levels and specialties. Our curriculum is aligned with the DoD's requirements, covering essential certifications such as CompTIA A+, Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), and more.

Starting at IAT Level 1

For students enrolling in our programs with no verifiable experience, Systematech has a clear and structured pathway. Regardless of your ultimate career goals, all new students will begin their training at Information Assurance Technical (IAT) Level 1. This foundational level ensures that every student gains a solid understanding of IT principles before progressing to more advanced levels.

Benefits of Training with Systematech

  1. Expert Instructors: Learn from industry-certified professionals with extensive real-world experience.

  2. Flexible Learning: Our online or self-paced courses provide the flexibility to study at your convenience.

  3. Hands-On Labs: Gain practical experience with hands-on labs that simulate real-world scenarios.

  4. Certification Support: Receive comprehensive support, including exam vouchers, CertMaster Learn access, and retake options.

Your Pathway to Success

By enrolling in Systematech's training programs, you are taking a significant step toward a rewarding career in IT. Our adherence to DoD Directive 8570 ensures that you receive the highest standard of education and are well-equipped to meet the challenges of protecting critical information systems.

In conclusion, DoD Directive 8570 sets the benchmark for IT training and certification within the Department of Defense. At Systematech, we are dedicated to helping you meet these standards and achieve your career goals. Start your journey with us at IAT Level 1, and let us guide you toward a future of IT excellence.

For more information about our training programs and to enroll, please visit our website or contact our support team. Together, we can build a safer digital world.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page